

MASFAP November 2021 Communication Conference Highlights

November MASFAP Conference Recap

We hope you enjoy this recap full of pictures from our 2021 annual conference! Our 2021 MASFAP President Becca Diskin opened the conference and welcomed the membership back in-person—it was so great to be back together! Our keynote speaker Shar Smith, empowerYOU, reminded us that every setback is a set up for a comeback. We are resilient!









2019 President Samantha Matchefts was not able to physically hand off the gavel to 2020 President Dena Norris due to the pandemic. This was an overdue passing of the gavel—look at that gavel!

MASFAP 2021



The MASFAP Board met on Sunday evening before the conference started on Monday. And we celebrated two Board members birthdays at the Board meeting! (Pictured left)





We had over 70 newcomers attend the conference and the Newcomer committee hosted a Newcomer breakfast with the MASFAP Board. The session was filled with lots of MASFAP history!









We had a blast going through the Game of Life-the Baby/Marriage room (no one will forget the BABY), the college and graduation room, the Career room, and the game ended with a retirement party! Great MASFAP networking!



















Fun painting and bidding an amazing silent auction items—MASFAP raised over \$10,000 for Bags of Fun, our conference charity. Wow—awesome!

















GREEN Okay with pre-COVID behaviors such as hugs and high-fives

okay with TALKING

YELLOW Desires some caution and respects social distancing guidelines



RED Desires extreme social distancing and the highest precautions. May be at high risk or caring for someone at high risk.



































2021 SERVICE AWARDS—5 YEARS



Years of Service – 5 Years

Ethan Bragg Anne Foudree Alyssa Dick Timothy Gormly **Courteney Grimm** Stephanie Pappas Jody Hawks Joanna Hubbard Jennifer Hubbs

Sara Lawrence Linze Leimkuehler Nathan Miller Annette Moore Anita Parks Ashley Richardson Colten Ross

Kaitlyn Russell Sherri Schaefer Lindsay Stapley Nikola Velickovic Lindsay Wilson

2021 SERVICE AWARDS—10 YEARS

Becky Ahrens Beth Seabaugh Sarah Bright Lisa Buda Matthew Bulicz Liz Case Jamie Davis Mayra Gonzalez Zachary Greenlee Susan Hartnagel Cassius Henley Kayla Jacobs Jacqueline Lickteig **Krissy Loenneke** Michele Logue Wendy McGowan Amanda McKay Shandra Morin

Megan Morton **Candice Muuo-Kimeu** Jana Osborn **Jennifer Wright**





2021 SERVICE AWARDS—15 YEARS



Years of Service - 15 Years

Delouis Booth Kyle Cronan Liesl Flanagan **Lisa Hearn** Jenifer Hoback **Jenny Laughlin** Carolyn Merkel **Laurel Miller** Beth Muir Zora Mulligan Theresa Myers Kathy Potter Stephanie Snyder Leesa Taylor Jessica Thyfault Jeff Vincent Leroy Wade

2021 SERVICE AWARDS—20 YEARS

Years of Service – 20 Years

Thea Abraham **Melissa Findley** Michele Franzen **Scott Giles** Charlotte Gray **Mitch Hess** Sarah Hirsch Lucinda Jones **Marilyn Landrum** Kelli Lively Toni Marchese Connie Marshall Janel Miller Victoria Mueller Robin Orvis Tameka Randle Paula Thies



2021 SERVICE AWARDS—25 YEARS

Nancy Anderson **Tony Lubbers** Michele Noah Chester Priest **Kelli Reed** Deborah Ross-Carter Sheryl Rowden Sonya Thiessen Jerry Westbrooks



2021 SERVICE AWARDS—30 YEARS



Glenn Chance Raina Chezem Kathleen Foster Amy Hager Ron Hancock Svetlana Veljkovich 2021 SERVICE AWARDS—35 YEARS

Debbie Alexander Jerry Belcher Maureen Kelly

2021 SERVICE AWARDS—45 YEARS

Linda Nichols

RETIREES—CONGRATULATIONS!

Thank you for your dedication to the financial aid industry and HAPPY RETIREMENT!

Raymond Bayer, Jr – Missouri Higher Education Loan Authority (36 years) Barb Kuelker – East Central College (36 years)

Marilyn Landrum - Missouri Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development (20 years)

Sherry Pennington – Cottey College (29 years)

Lisa Wilson – Missouri Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development (20 years)









LIFETIME AWARD

Recommended by the Awards Committee and approved by the board, lifetime members are granted MASFAP membership indefinitely.

> Tony Georges University of Missouri – St. Louis



Nancy Lynch Saint Louis University

Kathy Elsea Truman State University

Raymond H. Bayer, Jr. Missouri Higher Education Loan Authority



MISSOURI AWARD 2021

Congratulations to 2021 Missouri

Award Recipient:

Dena Norris Metropolitan Community College



Dena with past Missouri Award recipients who were in attendance at the conference The Missouri Award is MASFAP's highest honor And recognizes an individual from Missouri Who has demonstrated outstanding Leadership and service throughout Their financial aid career.





BOB BERGER NEWCOMER

Congratulations to 2021 Bob Berger Newcomer Award Recipient:

Manda Riley

University of Missouri—Columbia



PRESIDENTS AWARD



Award Recipient:

Cassandra Hicks

Southeast Missouri Hospital College of Nursing & Health Sciences

LEADERSHIP DEVELOPMENT GRADUATES



Great job to our 2021 Leadership Development graduates! Pictured from right to left: Amy Hager, Natalie Crawford, Krissy Loenneke, Shayla Johnson, Kristen Seabaugh, and Kari Lenz

> Thank you to Amy Hager for leading this group!

COMMITTEE OF THE YEAR

Newcomer Committee

Julie Loftin, Chair

Committee members

Colleen Brown Stephanie Broyles Charissa Davis Becca Diskin Kari Lenz

Patti Mathieson Anna Plattner Manda Riley Kristen Seabaugh



PASSING OF THE GAVEL



2021 MASFAP President Becca Diskin passes the gavel to 2022 MASFAP President Cassandra Hicks. Thank you Becca for your leadership this year! Cassandra we are so excited for 2022!





MORE CONFERENCE HIGHLIGHTS













