

### **MASFAP November 2018 Communication**

#### **November MASFAP Conference Recap**





Informative conference packed full of great sessions and fun.

Keynote speaker Dan Meers, KC Wolf, the mascot of the Kansas City Chiefs





Lena Tenney, Coordinator of Public Engagement for the Kirwan Institute of the Study of Race and Ethnicity at The Ohio State University.

Cosmic Bingo Night, raising money for Ava's Grace Scholarship Program!



Women in Leadership Panelists!

### MASFAA AWARD





Congratulations to Gena Boling, University of Missouri– Columbia, 2018 MASFAA Leadership Award recipient

Gena Boling has accepted a position as the Director of Financial Aid Compliance at Cornell University. Wow congrats Gena— we are proud of you! You will be missed in Missouri and within MASFAP! As a Past-President you are part of our history, and you have many forever friends here! Thank you for all you have done for MASFAP!

> Happy Birthday to Alex Miller, VP and Program Chair, who celebrated her 30th birthday with MASFAP on the last day of the conference.



### **2018 SERVICE AWARDS**

### **5 YEARS OF SERVICE**

#### Thank you for your dedication to the financial aid industry...

Holly Allen Ashlea Buntin Sean Burkett Terry Campbell Laura Catlett Michelle Creson Tamara Deines Angela Duvall Jason Enright Mariah Hibbard Valerie Jensen Jennifer Johnson Andrea Jones Julie Loftin Donna Mannon Ashley Nickell Tyson Otto Egbar Ozenkoski Cindy Peterie Shannon Peterson Kelly Pruett Michael Ruggless Jason <u>Samayoa</u> Valerie Sharp

Alesha Thomas Holly Thomas Kelli Todd Megan Watts Teresa White Christina Wiggin Sarah Williamson Emily Wilson Jeremy Wright April Young

Chrissa Siampos





5 years of service recipients in attendance at the conference

### **2018 SERVICE AWARDS CONTINUED**

### **10 YEARS OF SERVICE**

#### Thank you for your dedication to the financial aid industry...

Katie Anton Brice Baumgardner Monica Benthal Royce Bond Susanna Buhlinger Sebrina Colvin Rebecca Craig Nenad Curic Karen Didriksen Vicki Jacobson Shayla Johnson Mary Kelledes Ralph Kenniston Jessica Lorentz Cindy Marten Shawn McCaw Shelley Monnig Adrianne O'Keefe Della Rains Jill Rea Misty Seidel Cindy Spaulding Chrystal Truss Christian Vachaudez

#### Linda Waage



### **15 YEARS OF SERVICE**

#### Thank you for your dedication to the financial aid industry...

Dara Bigler Kathy Brockgreitens-Gober Dianna Carpenter Jody Castillo Joanna Finch Julie Finn Jeffery <u>Heckathorn</u> Mark Jeffries Sarah Johnson Mary Jane <u>Keifer</u> Heather King Nora Maxwell Maureen McKinnon Darlene Palmer Elizabeth <u>Poeling</u> Nicholas Prewett Marla Robertson Rebecca Ruff Karen Thompson Jennifer Vines



### **2018 SERVICE AWARDS CONTINUED**

### **20 YEARS OF SERVICE**

#### Thank you for your dedication to the financial aid industry...

Colleen Brown Kristi Cole Kelly Crowell Daniel Day Meredith <u>Geraci</u> Mary Guinn Diana <u>Heitman</u> Debi Holmes Verona Lambert Cheri Marks Helen <u>Nauman</u> Krista <u>Neels</u> Alfred Robinson Dee <u>Dee</u> Stevens <u>Caroles</u> Taylor Kathy Thomas Jeff Turnbull Valencia White



### **25 YEARS OF SERVICE**

#### Thank you for your dedication to the financial aid industry...

Sheryl Brady	Brenda <u>Krehbiel</u>
Sharee Brend	Jill <u>Oser</u>
Paula <u>Holekamp</u>	David Rice
Kim Howe	Mary <u>Walley</u>
Susan Joplin	Cathy Wetzel



### **2018 SERVICE AWARDS CONTINUED**

## **30 YEARS OF SERVICE**

Thank you for your dedication to the financial aid industry..

Regina Blackshear

Wendy Carter-Fischer

Kathy Dixon

Jeffery Ford

Donna Jackson

Jessica Key

Julee Sherman



### **35 YEARS OF SERVICE**

Thank you for your dedication to the financial aid industry...

Khaneetah Cunningham

Lisa Power

### **40 YEARS OF SERVICE**

Thank you for your dedication to the financial aid industry...

Shirley Chappel

Joyce Seale

### RETIREES

Thank you for your dedication to the financial aid industry and happy trails...

Kim Stonecipher-Fisher - Stephens College (5 years)

Ruth Smith - Missouri Southern State University (20 years)

Donna Jackson - University of Missouri-Kansas City (29 years)

Steve Jorden - A. T. Still University (33 years)

Karen Walker - Southeast Missouri State University (39 years)

Carol Rotach - University of Missouri-Kansas City (40 years)



## **CONFERENCE CHARITY**



Ava's Grace Scholarship Program was chosen as the conference charity. Their mission is to end the cycle of incarceration through the gift of higher education. The scholarship is focused on children who have been effected by parental incarceration. Founder Stephane Regagnon and scholarship recipient Torrian Collins, MSU student, shared information about this amazing program at the conference. MASFAP raised over \$5,000 for this charity!

# 2018 MISSOURI AWARD



Congratulations to 2018 Missouri Award Recipient: Amy Hager, Moberly Area Community College

Missouri Award winners in attendance at the conference



### 2018 BOB BERGER NEWCOMER AWARD AND PRESIDENT'S AWARD



Congratulations to 2018 Bob Berger Newcomer Award:

Alexandria Miller, Stephens College. This award recognizes the outstanding contributions of those new to the financial aid profession.



Kathy Dixon, MOHELA, was presented with the President's Award from Kerry Hallahan. Previous Bob Berger Newcomer Award Recipients attending the 2018 conference.



Committee of the Year: Association Governance, Chaired by Amy Hager



Committee Members – Gena Boling, Cindy Butler, Keri Gilbert, Kerry Hallahan, Keely Haynes, Cassandra Hicks, Samantha Matchefts, Melinda Wood

Great job to our 2018 Leadership Development participants!



## PASSING OF THE GAVEL



\*\*



Passing of the Gavel ceremony—2018 President Kerry Hallahan passing the gavel to MASFAP's 2019 President Samantha Matchefts.



